University of Minnesota
Institute for Engineering in Medicine
http://iem.umn.edu/
612-626-3272

Unit's home page.

Cardiovascular Engineering Theme

 

The major research goal of the Cardiovascular Engineering Theme is to understand and seek solutions to manage cardiovascular diseases, which represent a major public health challenge in the US and developed countries. Multiscale approaches ranging from gene, cell, tissue, and organ levels, are being utilized. Cellular and tissue engineering approaches are being developed to repair cardiovascular systems. Novel imaging and sensing modalities are also being developed to understand the mechanisms of cardiovascular diseases and provide engineering solutions to aid clinical diagnosis and management of cardiovascular diseases.

PERSON DEPARTMENT EMAIL
Bache, Robert Medicine  bache001@umn.edu
Barocas, Victor Biomedical Engineering baroc001@umn.edu
Bischof, John Mechanical Engineering bischof@umn.edu
Duprez, Daniel Medicine dupre007@umn.edu
Ebbini, Emad Electrical & Computer Engineering ebbin001@umn.edu
Foker, John Surgery foker001@umn.edu
Garry, Daniel Medicine garry@umn.edu
He, Bin Biomedical Engineering binhe@umn.edu
Hebbel, Robert Medicine hebbe001@umn.edu
Iaizzo, Paul Surgery iaizz001@umn.edu
Patterson, Robert Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation patte001@umn.edu
Shekhar, Shashi Computer Science & Engineering shekhar@umn.edu
Shen, Wei Biomedical Engineering shenx104@umn.edu
Steer, Clifford Medicine steer001@umn.edu
Talkachova, Alena Biomedical Engineering talkacal@umn.edu
Tranquillo, Robert Biomedical Engineering tranquillo@umn.edu
Wood, David Biomedical Engineering dkwood@umn.edu