University of Minnesota
Institute for Engineering in Medicine
http://iem.umn.edu/
612-626-3272

Unit's home page.

Medical Devices Theme

 

The goal of the Medical Devices Theme is to develop devices and technologies that can aid in diagnosis, treatment and management of various diseases. Emphasis is placed on innovation in engineering that addresses unmet medical needs. Research approaches include virtual prototyping based optimization of medical device design, and optimizing devices and instruments that may be of immediate needs of clinical applications.

PERSON DEPARTMENT EMAIL
Aparicio, Conrado Restorative Sciences apari003@umn.edu
Ashkenazi, Shai Biomedical Engineering ashke003@umn.edu
Bechtold, Joan Orthopaedic Surgery bechtold@umn.edu
Bianco, Richard Surgery bianc001@umn.edu
Bischof, John Mechanical Engineering bischof@umn.edu
Boulware, David Medicine boulw001@umn.edu
Buchwald, Henry Surgery buchw001@umn.edu
Campbell, Stephen Electrical & Computer Engineering scampbell@umn.edu
Cressman, Erik Radiology cress013@umn.edu
Cureoglu, Sebahattin Otolaryngology cureo003@umn.edu
Duprez, Daniel Medicine dupre007@umn.edu
Durfee, William Mechanical Engineering wkdurfee@umn.edu
Ebbini, Emad Electrical & Computer Engineering ebbin001@umn.edu
Erdman, Arthur Mechanical Engineering agerdman@umn.edu
Finkelstein, Stanley Laboratory Medicine & Pathology stan@umn.edu
Fok, Alex Restorative Sciences alexfok@umn.edu
Hammer, Bruce Radiology - CMRR hammer@umn.edu
He, Bin Biomedical Engineering binhe@umn.edu
Iaizzo, Paul Surgery iaizz001@umn.edu
James, Richard Aerospace Engineering & Mechanics james@umn.edu
Janardan, Ravi Computer Science & Engineering janardan@umn.edu
Johnson, Alan Mechanical Engineering john5708@umn.edu
Johnson, Matthew Biomedical Engineering john5101@umn.edu
Kennedy, William Neurology kenne001@umn.edu
Koester, Steven Electrical & Computer Engineering skoester@umn.edu
Levine, Samuel Otolaryngology levin001@umn.edu
Li, Perry Mechanical Engineering perry-li@umn.edu
Lim, Hubert Biomedical Engineering hlim@umn.edu
Low, Walter Neurosurgery lowwalt@umn.edu
Odland, Rick Otolaryngology odlan007@umn.edu
Oh, Sang-Hyun Electrical & Computer Engineering sang@umn.edu
Panyam, Jayanth Pharmaceutics jpanyam@umn.edu
Parhi, Keshab Electrical & Computer Engineering parhi@umn.edu
Patterson, Robert Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation patte001@umn.edu
Rajamani, Rajesh Mechanical Engineering rajamani@umn.edu
Saltzman, Daniel Surgery saltz002@umn.edu
Schiffer, Wynne Neurology schiffer@umn.edu
Sewell Araya, Joseph Urologic Surgery jsewella@umn.edu
Siegel, Ronald Pharmaceutics siege017@umn.edu
Simone, Donald Diagnostic & Biological Sciences simon003@umn.edu
Sweet, Robert Urologic Surgery rsweet@umn.edu
Taton, Andrew Chemistry taton@umn.edu
Timm, Gerald Urologic Surgery timmx025@umn.edu
Wang, Jian-Ping Electrical & Computer Engineering jpwang@umn.edu
Yee, Douglas Medicine, Pharmacology yeexx006@umn.edu
Yueh, Bevan Otolaryngology byueh@umn.edu
Zhang, Jianyi "Jay" Medicine zhang047@umn.edu

 


The Medical Device Innovation Handbook is a resource for those innovators who want to learn and follow a medical device innovation process. Its development is sponsored by the Medical Devices Center, affiliated with the Institute for Engineering in Medicine at the University of Minnesota.