University of Minnesota
Institute for Engineering in Medicine
http://iem.umn.edu/
612-626-3272

Unit's home page.

Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering Theme

 

The Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering Theme seeks to understand and control cells so that we can design therapeutic strategies to halt disease and promote regenerative healing. As a result of systematic genome sequencing projects, such as the Human Genome Project, we now have essentially a molecular "parts list" for the cell. We now seek to apply physically-based modeling and advanced instrumentation to understand the cell, which can be treated as a microscale system where forces balance, and mass and energy are conserved. The key challenge that the Theme Group is now addressing includes understanding how molecular parts work together as functioning cellular-level systems to enable cells to execute specific disease-related tasks, and then using the models to design novel therapeutic strategies.

PERSON DEPARTMENT EMAIL
Alford, Patrick Biomedical Engineering pwalford@umn.edu
Aparicio, Conrado Restorative Sciences apari003@umn.edu
Asakura, Atsushi Neurology asakura@umn.edu
Bechtold, Joan Orthopaedic Surgery bechtold@umn.edu
Buchwald, Henry Surgery buchw001@umn.edu
Cerra, Frank Surgery cerra001@umn.edu
Chen, Wei Radiology - CMRR chenx075@umn.edu
Foker, John Surgery foker001@umn.edu
Gleason, Bill Laboratory Medicine & Pathology bgleason@umn.edu
Gupta, Kalpna Medicine gupta014@umn.edu
Hackel, Benjamin Chemical Engineering/Materials Science hackel@umn.edu
Hebbel, Robert Medicine hebbe001@umn.edu
Hu, Wei-Shou Chemical Engineering/Materials Science wshu@umn.edu
Hubel, Allison Mechanical Engineering hubel001@umn.edu
Lam, Cornelius Neurosurgery lamxx023@umn.edu
Letourneau, Paul Neuroscience letou001@umn.edu
Low, Walter Neurosurgery lowwalt@umn.edu
McCarthy, James Laboratory Medicine & Pathology mccar001@umn.edu
McCullough, Jeffrey Laboratory Medicine & Pathology mccul001@umn.edu
Odde, David Biomedical Engineering oddex002@umn.edu
Panyam, Jayanth Pharmaceutics jpanyam@umn.edu
Provenzano, Paolo Biomedical Engineering pprovenz@umn.edu
Sachs, Jonathan Biomedical Engineering jnsachs@umn.edu
Saltzman, Daniel Surgery saltz002@umn.edu
Sarkar, Casim Biomedical Engineering csarkar@umn.edu
Schiffer, Wynne Neurology schiffer@umn.edu
Sewell Araya, Joseph Urologic Surgery jsewella@umn.edu
Shen, Wei Biomedical Engineering shenx104@umn.edu
Siegel, Ronald Pharmaceutics siege017@umn.edu
Skubitz, Amy Laboratory Medicine & Pathology skubi002@umn.edu
Stadler, Bethanie Electrical & Computer Engineering stadl002@umn.edu
Steer, Clifford Medicine steer001@umn.edu
Taton, Andrew Chemistry taton@umn.edu
Wang, Chun Biomedical Engineering wangx504@umn.edu
Watanabe, Yoichi Therapeutic Radiology watan016@umn.edu
Wood, David Biomedical Engineering dkwood@umn.edu